Sermon Outline – What Makes an Awesome Mom?

Moms are always honored in the Bible. They matter because they have such an awesome capacity to bless their little ones and to continue to bless them as they grow into adults to become parents themselves. I liked the funny Mothers Day card examples Pastor Steve read. One card said, “Mom, take it easy today. Lay on the couch and rest. Be like Dad for a day”.

Below is the outline from the sermon message. One idea might be to use this outline or write notes from your church’s sermon message and go through them in a small group. Sermon outlines can also be used if you get together with an accountability partner or with a small Bible Study group. You are welcome to view podcast of sermons at this Link.

AN AWESOME EXAMPLE

“Just as I have loved you, you should love each other.” John 13:34b (NLT)

“And you should follow my example, just as I follow Christ’s.” 1 Corinthians 11:1 (NLT)

AN AWESOME FOUNDATION

“I have loved you the way My Father has loved Me. Make yourselves at home in My love.” John 15:9 (MSG)

“Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave Himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.” Ephesians 5:1-2 (NIV)

AN AWESOME PURPOSE

“Not to us, O Lord, not to us but to Your name be the glory, because of Your love and faithfulness.” Ps 115:1 (NIV)

“Children are a gift from the Lord;….” Ps 127:3a (NLT)

AN AWESOME POWER

“We love, because He first loves us.” 1 John 4:19(NIV)

“I can do all things through Christ, because He gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13 (NCV)

The main thought that I got from the sermon message is that awesome Moms have the capacity to reflect who Christ is. When they live out the love that He has for us, they give us examples to follow which affects choices children make. These choices then affect what we become when we are age 17 or 97. Here’s a video that highlights God’s love: Your Love – Brandon Heath. My hope is that it will give inspiration for your day.
 

About Mark Shields

Mark volunteers as a member of the media ministry team at his church. A few years ago, he started an on-line Bible study guide called “This Day with God Devotional”. He uses this as a tool in his journey through the Bible. We live in a very busy world with busy schedules so this tool has helped him continue with daily Bible reading and study. Each of the studies are designed to help apply our faith in the work place, at school, or at home. Join him on this journey or check in every so often to read his thoughts.
This entry was posted in Matthew and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sermon Outline – What Makes an Awesome Mom?

  1. All I can say – as a mother – is this: thank you for this encouraging post!:-)

  2. Pingback: Awesome Dads | This Day With God

  3. sagescenery says:

    I’ll enjoy my Mother’s Day, because my son is my awesome gift from God!! Amen!

    • Mark Shields says:

      Thanks for sharing this awesome response. God has given you an awesome purpose as a Mom!

      • sagescenery says:

        Thanks!! I like to “mother” the kids on my Drama Team, the kids at the Christian school where I teach, the kids in Kids Church, and the home school kids I evaluate…doesn’t matter…I have radar for kids!! Ha! And my gift and wisdom from God is to encourage, encourage, encourage!!! That’s why I love Drama Team so much…I get to encourage them to love the Lord, and do something great for the Kingdom of God!! Amen!

      • Mark Shields says:

        Thanks for all you do for kids. Have a wonderful weekend and Mother’s Day!

      • sagescenery says:

        Thanks!!! I had a very special day of feeling loved & appreciated!! Amen!!

  4. This is such an inspiring and lovely post Mark. Thank you so much for sharing this enjoyable read. And the video/song choice is wonderful. On a side note my youngest son gave me a Brandon Heath CD for Christmas last year! Great inspirational music. Regards, Gina

Leave a Reply

