Pray for What to Say and Do

Photo from Google Images

It seems as though David is in a crises situation as he goes to God in prayer to ask what to say and do. David’s attitude as I read Psalm 141 is one of humility and he is open to rebuke and correction (v. 5).

I had some blood work a while back as part of an annual wellness exam. After getting the results, I was told that my Triglyceride count was border-line high. Triglycerides are a type of fat found in your blood which is bad for your heart. I was told I need to lose some weight and limit fats and sugars in my diet.

Like David, I need to be open to criticism. It would do me some good to do away with that extra piece of pie; the supersize order to go with my Big Mac which includes extra greasy fries and super size soda.

Like certain types of food, sin can seem delicious and tasty but it doesn’t last long and is bad for the heart. The worldly things that taste sweet at first ultimately become bitter but God’s Word is always sweet and wholesome. The gifts of the Spirit planted in the heart will last forever.

This day with God, be inspired by the fact that our Creator of the universe with over 100 billion galaxies with each galaxy having billions of stars thinks that every person is so important that He sent His Son to die on the cross for them. You and I are His greatest creation of all. Because we know this, let us pray that we treat everyone with kindness and tact.

About Mark Shields

Mark volunteers as a member of the media ministry team at his church. A few years ago, he started an on-line Bible study guide called “This Day with God Devotional”. He uses this as a tool in his journey through the Bible. We live in a very busy world with busy schedules so this tool has helped him continue with daily Bible reading and study. Each of the studies are designed to help apply our faith in the work place, at school, or at home. Join him on this journey or check in every so often to read his thoughts.
This entry was posted in Psalm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pray for What to Say and Do

    • Mark Shields says:

      Thanks for the reblog.

      • It’s been my pleasure and I am grateful that you have a wonderful blog. People really need some reminders like what you wrote in there, but the most important is for me that your blog becomes my inspirations for my everyday living…I will always be glad to read all your blog from now on…. Thank you so much, sir Mark Shields! . 🙂

  1. Cheryl says:

    It is really important to realize that when you get the right nutrition, the bad foods are not tempting. They no longer attract. Once you start having good nutrition, you crave that, not bad foods. But good nutrition will not put weight on you like bad foods do.

Leave a Reply

