One Small Step Changes Everything

I enjoy writing inspirational poems and this one is inspired by a sermon at my church. This weekend, share a thought from one of the great sermons you attend in your community or on a podcast.

Step Ahead

An encounter with our God
is an opportunity for new directions
as we step ahead fearlessly
without any objections.

Commitment helps us all
to step ahead on this trail
and Baptism is a symbol
of this commitment in detail.

You don’t have to understand fully
but just step ahead with trust
for God will provide the help
to see what may need to adjust.

Those who God uses the most,
look forward without any dread
so make the right choice
towards the amazing path ahead.

Poem by Mark Shields – © 07-14-2016
Image Source
This poem was inspired by the the worship service last week at the church I attend. To see the sermon live each Sunday morning, just click this link: Worship Service on Facebook. Then look for the latest post where it says “Live Sermon”.

View original post

About Mark Shields

Mark volunteers as a member of the media ministry team at his church. A few years ago, he started an on-line Bible study guide called “This Day with God Devotional”. He uses this as a tool in his journey through the Bible. We live in a very busy world with busy schedules so this tool has helped him continue with daily Bible reading and study. Each of the studies are designed to help apply our faith in the work place, at school, or at home. Join him on this journey or check in every so often to read his thoughts.
This entry was posted in Devotionals, Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Small Step Changes Everything

  1. This is interesting because when I was restoring classic cars, I found that if I looked at a car in a big picture sort of way and saw all the repair and restoration work that needed to be done, it would get pretty discouraging. I discovered that you have to break a project car down into a series of small projects and focus on one at time. Get the trunk pan. Don’t look at anything else until it’s done. Repair the quarter panel and get it done, and don’t worry about any other part of the car. Get the engine compartment squared away. By breaking it down into a series of small projects rather than looking at it as one big project, you’ll begin to see progress being made. Eventually all those little projects start to tie together and you end up with a restored classic!

    It’s the same thing for us in our walk with the Lord. Some of us needed a lot of work when we gave our lives to Christ. In fact, I’m still a work in progress. But most of time, it’s best to ask God to help us focus on one area of our lives instead of trying to “fix” everything at once. That’s not to say that God is not capable of helping us get our lives in order all in one day. He’s a big God and He can do that. But it’s always seemed to me that God wants me to focus on one small area of my life at a time, and I believe it’s because God knows there will be a point when we begin to reflect and look back, and we’ll be able to see the progress that is being made in our walk with Christ. We’ll see our spiritual growth and maturity. We’ll see the growth of Godly wisdom in ourselves as He guides us on our journey. God uses that time of reflection to give us the encouragement we need to press on when we encounter those inevitable setbacks.

  2. Sir, an absolutely beautiful poem. Reading poems about God, is always a pleasure. I keep visiting blogs to read poem like this, but seldom do I get them. Then I came to this blog, I read the poem, and the first word that struck my mind, ‘ beautiful’. Keep it going sir…
    One more thing I wanna tell you is that, I too have a blog: https://incrediblepoetry.wordpress.com please do visit and comment. Like if you really did like it.. follow if you really feel like. I too felt like following your blog, and hence I am. ..

  3. Sorry sir, to have given the previous comment. I thought you were not paying attention towards my blog, but. I am again following you, for I now now know, you are not selfish..

Leave a Reply

